Admissions: 866.605.0532Non-Admissions: 904.685.9083
Our Memberships & Accreditations
“I had no direction in my life whatsoever when I came here… Now I want to go back to school to become an addiction therapist, so that I can be part of other people’s recovery and a positive force in their life like the staff at Beaches was for me.”
Tides Edge Detox has received accreditation from The Joint Commission (TJC).
Verify Your Insurance
Connect With Us
390 16th Ave South Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250
Admissions: 866.605.0532 Non-admissions: 904.685.9083
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is not just dangerous. It is also illegal. Whether you’re in Florida or anywhere else across the country, driving while intoxicated can put your life at risk as well as the lives of others. Sadly, some men and women who struggle with substance abuse break Florida DUI laws. The good news is that help is available, offering a fresh start for those struggling with substance abuse and addiction.
A DUI is an offense that occurs when a person drives under the influence of an addictive, illegal or controlled substance. Typically, these substances are controlled substances like alcohol, illicit drugs or prescription drugs. When you drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you have a much slower reaction time. You’re also far more likely to be involved in accidents, to injure yourself and to be responsible for the injuries and fatalities of others.
Florida DUI laws are evident in the amount of alcohol a person can have in their bloodstream before driving becomes illegal. If you have a blood alcohol level, or BAC, of 0.08 or higher, then you’re driving under the influence. Law enforcement agents can also make the judgment call if a driver appears to be impaired, which may be likely if the driver is abusing medications or illegal drugs.
There are many ways that Florida DUI laws get enforced, and spot checks are possible. Most common are DUI checkpoints, which allow police to check on every driver that passes through a set area. There is no way to outsmart a breath analyzer exam, so there is never a safe or right time to drive while under the influence.
There are some fines and punishments if you receive a DUI in Florida. If it is your first offense, then you’ll be liable for a penalty of up to $2,000. If your BAC is over .15 or you have a minor in the car with you, then even a first offense can mean a fine of $4,000.
A first-time offender can also be required to serve a mandatory sentence of 50 hours of community service. Probation and even incarceration are possible punishments, and the likelihood of both increases if this is not your first offense.
If you receive a DUI in Florida, you’ll almost certainly have your driver’s license revoked. This means you won’t be able to drive anywhere for 180 days or even an entire year.
When you are finally eligible to drive once again, you’ll need to pay a fine to reinstate your license. There are a lot of administrative hoops to jump through when you get a DUI, and regaining the ability to drive legally will be one of the toughest.
Florida DUI laws may require offenders to seek professional treatment. This is intended to help those who struggle with alcohol abuse disorder find support and medical care. Often, individuals who are suffering from a substance abuse disorder, and therefore driving under the influence, need to target the root of the problem.
Ideally, these programs would impress on clients the importance of driving safely. Even in the event of relapse, no one should put themselves, their passengers or innocent bystanders at risk. Plus, these programs get participants the help they need to fight back against addiction. The right support can make all the difference.
At Beaches Recovery, clients can participate in the Fresh Start DUI Program. This is ideal for those who have received a mandatory referral and have to complete a DUI program within the state of Florida. In addition to meeting state requirements, Beaches Recovery helps clients find their route to recovery. Therapies and treatments available to clients include:
Florida DUI laws are clear, and those who receive a DUI need to seek treatment. At Beaches Recovery in Jacksonville, clients can get real support as they navigate the process of recovery. Call us at 866.605.0532 when you’re ready to end substance abuse and work towards the life you’ve always wanted.